Islamic Months & Events

The Islamic year has twelve months that are based on a lunar cycle. Allah says in the Qur’an:

“The number of months in the sight of Allah is twelve (in a year) – so ordained by Him the day He created the heavens and the earth….”(9:36)

“It is He Who made the sun to be a shining glory, and the moon to be a light of beauty, and measured out stages for it, that you might know the number of years and the count of time. Allah did not create this except in truth and righteousness. And He explains His signs in detail, for those who understand” (10:5).

And in his final sermon before his death, the Prophet Muhammad (صلى الله عليه وسلم‎ ṣall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam) said, among other things:

“With Allah the months are twelve; four of them are holy; three of these are successive and one occurs singly between the months of Jumaada and Sha’ban.”

Islamic months begin at sunset of the first day, the day when the lunar crescent is visually sighted. The lunar year is approximately 354 days long, so the months rotate backward through the seasons and are not fixed to the Gregorian calendar. The months of the Islamic year are:

  1.   Muḥarram محرّم (or Muḥarram al Ḥaram)
  2.   Ṣafar صفر (or Ṣafar al Muzaffar)
  3.   Rabīʿ al-Awwal (Rabīʿ I) ربيع الأوّل
  4.   Rabīʿ al-Thānī (or Rabīʿ al-Ākhir) (Rabīʿ II) ربيع الآخر أو ربيع الثاني
  5.   Jumada Al-Awwal (Jumādā I) جمادى الأولى
  6.   Jumādā al-Thānī (or Jumādā al-Ākhirah) (Jumādā II) جمادى الآخرة أو جمادى الثانية
  7.   Rajab رجب (or Rajab al-Murājab)
  8.   Shaʿbān شعبان (or Shaʿbān al-Muʿaẓẓam)
  9.   Ramaḍān رمضان (or Ramaḍān al-Mubārak)
  10.   Shawwāl شوّال (or Shawwāl al-Mukarram)
  11.   Dhū al-Qaʿda ذو القعدة (or Dhū al-Qiʿda)
  12.   Dhū al-Ḥijja ذو الحجة (or Dhū al-Ḥajja)

To get today’s Islamic month, date and hijri please click here

Important dates in the Islamic year

  • 1st of Muharram (Islamic New Year)
  • 10th of Muharram (Day of Ashura)
  • 12th of Rabi al Awal (Birth of Prophet Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم‎ ṣall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam)
  • 1st of Ramadan (first day of fasting)
  • 27th of Ramadan (Nuzul Al-Qur’an) – Last third of Ramadan which includes Laylatul Qadr
  • 1st of Shawwal (Eid al-Fitr)
  • 8th-13th of Dhu al-Hijjah (the Hajj to Mecca)
  • 10th of Dhu al-Hijjah (Eid al-Adha)

To get today’s Islamic month, date and hijri please click here